The FUGA Budapest Center of Architecture, founded by the Budapest Architecture Chamber, was opened of the 1st of October, 2009. It is an outstanding downtown venue for the representation of architecture, and since its opening it has become a widely acknowledged and acclaimed cultural institution with a large core audience and 30-40 programs every month. FUGA’s main message is that architecture is an essential part of culture. This basic tenet is the reason why FUGA, in addition to its priority field of architecture, provides space to showcase a multitude of other fields: fine arts, design, photography, classical music, jazz, theatre, science, books, movies. All topics involve lectures, debates and workshop discussions, where regular and occasional visitors have a chance to get acquainted with each other. By presenting contemporary artists from various fields, we intend to strengthen the relationship between architecture and other art forms. Our goal is to make cultural consumers feel at home at the Budapest Center of Architecture.
New exhibitions are held every 3 weeks.
FUGA’s bookshop, named after Mihály Vargha architecture critic, offers a wide selection of books and journals on architecture and art.
The building was designed by Aladár Kármán and Gyula Ullmann in 1906 for the retirement fund of the Hungarian General Bank. The ground floor and first floor of the bank housed on of the bank’s subsidiaries, the Hermes Hungarian General Exchange Commission.
The first remodeling was done in 1913 according to designs by Alfréd Hajós and János Villányi. From the early 60’s the Builder’s Engineering Club (Építők Műszaki Klubja) operated on the second floor. The first floor housed the central offices of the 31st National Constructing Company (Állami Építőipari Vállalat).
The last occupant of the ground floor was the Central Computing Office of the OTP Bank.
The building has been unoccupied since 1992.